So a week ago, I made dinner for my family.  I would have posted a lot of details and stuff, but it was a week ago.  I don’t remember all that happened, and I have better things to do.  Sorry; this blog isn’t my first priority (it’s actually my second priority, after dipping things in nutella, of course).

I wanted to make gnocchi, because it’s probably my favorite dish.  It’s super versatile, because it can be a great side dish, or it can stand alone as a pretty filling main dish.

The gnocchi was actually really easy to make, because I kind of cheated and used dry potato flakes instead of real potatoes.  The whole process used a lot of dishes (which I washed later!), but was pretty easy.  It’s kind of hard to screw up gnocchi.

I made it with a sage and almond pesto (note to self: a little too much sage), although it can really go with any sauce.  I sauteed the gnocchi in olive oil with broccoli after cooking them, and topped with shredded mozzarella afterward.  And then I made a simple spinach and strawberry salad on the side.

I doubled the batch, because the recipe said it made two servings (I was cooking for four).  That made about six servings though.  Anyway, here’s the recipe I used, courtesy of What Megan’s Making:

Ingredients:

1 cup Dry Potato Flakes
1 cup Boiling Water
1 whole Egg Beaten
1 teaspoon Salt
⅛ teaspoons Ground Black Pepper
1-½ cup All-purpose Flour

Directions:

Place potato flakes in a medium-sized bowl. Pour in boiling water; stir until blended and let cool. Stir in the beaten egg, salt and pepper. Blend in enough flour to make a fairly stiff dough (you may need extra flour). Turn dough out onto a well-floured board and knead lightly.

Divide dough in half. Shape each half into a long thin roll. Cut into bite-sized pieces. Use 2 fingers to press down on each piece and pull it towards you slightly to sort of “roll” it in a little. This is hard to explain, but it gives the gnocchi their traditional shape. This step isn’t completely necessary, however. Use plenty of flour to keep them from sticking.

To cook, place a few gnocchi in boiling water with a little bit of oil to keep them from sticking. As the gnocchi rise to the top of the pot, remove thewith a slotted spoon. Repeat until all are cooked.

Domestic status: Success.

Happy Monday!

-DD